Entry Formalities

Get to Know Us

Entry Formalities

Passport/Travel Documents

Visitors to Malaysia must be in possession of a valid passport/travel documents with a minimum validity of six months beyond the period of intended stay. If a national passport is not recognised by the Malaysian Government, the holder must be in possession of a document in lieu of passport obtainable at the nearest Malaysian Mission abroad.

Every visitor to Malaysia has to fill in a Disembarkation Card (IMM. 26) which has to be handed over to the Immigration Officer on arrival together with the national passport or other internationally recognised travel document endorsed for travel into Malaysia. A passport/travel document is also necessary for travel between Sabah and Sarawak.

Visitor passes issued for entry into Peninsula Malaysia are not valid for entry into Sarawak. Fresh visitor passes must be obtained on arrival at the point of entry in Sarawak. However, subject to conditions stipulated, visitor passes issued by the Immigration Authorities in Sabah and Sarawak are valid for any part of Malaysia.

Visa Requirements

Commonwealth Citizens (except Bangladesh/India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka), British Protected Persons or Citizens of the Republic of Ireland and Citizens of Switzerland, Netherlands, San Marino and Liechtenstein do not need a visa to enter Malaysia.

Citizens of Albania, Austria, Algeria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Republic of Slovakia, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Japan, South Korea, Luxembourg, Norway, Sweden, Italy, United States of America, Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Egypt, Morocco, North Yemen, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Qatar United Arab Emirates, Turkey and Tunisia do not require a visa for a Social and Business visit not exceeding three months.

Nationals of ASEAN Countries do not require a visa for a Social and Business visit not exceeding one month.

Citizens of Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Syria and South Yemen do not require a visa for a Social and Business visit not exceeding 14 days.

Citizens of Bulgaria, Romania and Russia do not require a visa for a Social and Business visit not exceeding one week.

Nationals of the Republic of China, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cuba, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, North Korea, Nepal, Myanmar, Taiwan, and Vietnam along with all Certificate of Identity (CI) holders must obtain a visa before entering Malaysia.

Citizens of nations other than those stated above (except Serbia Montenegro and Israel) are allowed to enter Malaysia for a Social and Business visit not exceeding one month without having a Visa.

A visitor intending to visit any part of Malaysia is required to be in possession of only one visa to travel directly from one part of the nation to another.

Visas are issued by Malaysian Diplomatic Missions abroad or British Consulates which act for Malaysia in countries where no diplomatic representation of Malaysia is established. All visitors to Malaysia should inquire at the nearest Malaysian Diplomatic Mission for the latest entry procedures and requirements.